If there is a contact tag you'd no longer like to use, you can delete it easier within your contacts product.
First, click on the Contacts icon and then click on the tags tab.
From there, you will see a list of your tags. Check the checkbox to the left of the tag you'd like to delete, then click on the delete button.
After you click on delete, a confirmation message will appear. Click on yes, delete it to confirm.